Special Meeting of Full Council Monday 13 December 2021

Notice of Motion

Following the resignation of former Cllr Paula Coy the Conservative Group and the MAG group were concerned that the current minority administration now represents less than a third of the overall council.

Despite the remaining time for this council before the 2022 council elections the combined groups are conscious that the annual budget is a very significant event with lasting implications for the council beyond the election timetable.

The combined group are willing to offer 11 councillors to take on the administration and in so doing will focus their efforts to build a truly strong recovery budget, giving strength to our communities and ensuring a commitment to high quality front line services.

The group give an absolute assurance that the work needed to change will be kept to an absolute minimum with a continued commitment to the Moray Growth Deal, the modernisation and improvement programme and the recovery and renewal programme.

If successful we will do everything we can to continue to foster positive relations with other groups in the council so together we can produce a strong recovery budget in 2022.

We recognise that the undersigned 11 councillors can, by coming together, bring enhanced certainty to the council over the remaining months, an area which is identified as high risk in the council's corporate risk assessment and we would reach out to all other councillors to continue working together for the communities of Moray.

The combined group therefore recommend that council note the potential benefit in 11 councillors being part of administration and agree to change the leader and convener of the council and by association the administration by agreeing the following appointments;

2.1 Appointment of Convener – Cllr James Allan

2.2 Appointment of Council Leader – Cllr Tim Eagle

2.3 Appointment of Chairs and Depute Chairs to each of the undernoted Committees to be confirmed during meeting;

Appeals Committee -Audit and Scrutiny – To be decided by remaining members of council Corporate Committee – Economic Development and Infrastructure Services – Education, Children's and Leisure Services Committee – Housing and Community Safety Committee -Licensing Committee – Moray Local Review Body –

Planning and Regulatory Services – Police and Fire and Rescue Services Committee – Joint Consultative Committee -School Placings and Exclusions Appeals Committee -

2.4 CoSLA Appointments – To be confirmed at council meeting

Leaders' Meeting - Council Leader

Convention - 3 Members (must reflect political balance) Environment and Economy Board – Community and Wellbeing Board – Children and Young People Board – Health and Social Care Board –

2.5 Community Planning and Other Partnership Bodies – To be confirmed at council meeting.

Community Planning Board – Grampian Valuation Joint Board – Moray Integration Joint Board –

2.6 Outside bodies appointments –

NHS Grampian Board -

Signed:

Cllr Timothy Eagle Cllr Derek Ross Cllr Claire Feaver Cllr Frank Brown Cllr Marc Macrae Cllr Walter Wilson Cllr Maria McLean Cllr Ray McLean Cllr Donald Gatt Cllr Laura Powell Cllr James Allan