

# **Children and Young People's Services Committee**

Wednesday, 18 December 2019

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a Meeting of the Children and Young People's Services Committee is to be held at Council Chambers, Council Office, High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BX on Wednesday, 18 December 2019 at 09:30.

## **BUSINESS**

## 1 Sederunt

## 2 Declaration of Group Decisions and Members Interests \*

### <sup>3</sup> Resolution

Consider, and if so decide, adopt the following resolution: "That under Section 50A (4) and (5) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as amended, the public and media representatives be excluded from the meeting for Item 15 of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information of the class described in the relevant Paragraphs of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the Act."

# 4\* Minute of Meeting dated 30 October and 5 November 7 - 14 2019

15 - 36

### 5 Written Questions \*\*

### 6 \* Learning and Teaching Strategy

Report by Depute Chief Executive (Education, Communities and Organisational Development)

# 7 \* Schools for the Future Reviews - Keith Grammar School 37 -128 Associated Schools Group

Report by the Depute Chief Executive (Education, Communities and Organisational Development)

8 *	Primary and Secondary School Functional Capacity and	129 -
	Occupancy	138
	Report by the Depute Chief Executive (Education, Communities and Organisational Development)	
9 *	Realigning Children's Services Programme	139 - 144
	Report by the Chief Executive	
10	Inspection of Cala. Moray Council's Residential	145 - 148
	Provision for Looked After Children Report by the Chief Executive	
11 *	National Education Priorities - Excellence and Equity Report by the Depute Chief Executive (Education, Communities and Organisational Development)	149 - 174
12 *	Education and Children and Families Revenue Budget	175 -
	Monitoring to 31 October 2019	180
	Report by the Depute Chief Executive (Education, Communities and Organisational Development)	
13 *	Education and Social Care Capital Budget Monitoring	181 - 192
	Report to 31 October 2019	
	Report by the Depute Chief Executive (Education, Communities and Organisational Development)	
14	Question Time ***	
	Consider any oral question on matters delegated to the Committee in terms of the Council's Scheme of Administration.	
	Item which the Committee may wish to consider with the	
	Press and Public excluded	

# Moray and Nairn Educational Trust - Disbursement2019/2020 [Para 4]

• Information relating to any applicant or recipient of any financial assistance provided by the Authority;

# Only items marked \* can be considered and determined

## by all members of the Committee

## Summary of Children and Young People's Services

### **Committee functions:**

To exercise all the functions of the Council as Education Authority within the terms of relevant legislation with regard to school education, nurseries and child care, Gaelic, children's services, leisure, libraries and museums, sport and the arts, CLD, life long learning, youth justice and child protection.

Any person attending the meeting who requires access assistance should contact customer services on 01343 563217 in advance of the meeting.

- \* **Declaration of Group Decisions and Members Interests** The Chair of the meeting shall seek declarations from any individual or political group at the beginning of a meeting whether any prior decision has been reached on how the individual or members of the group will vote on any item(s) of business on the Agenda, and if so on which item(s). A prior decision shall be one that the individual or the group deems to be mandatory on the individual or the group members such that the individual or the group members will be subject to sanctions should they not vote in accordance with the prior decision. Any such prior decisions will be recorded in the Minute of the meeting.
- \*\* Written Questions Any Member can put one written question about any relevant and competent business within the specified remits not already on the agenda, to the Chair provided it is received by the Proper Officer or Committee Services by 12 noon two working days prior to the day of the meeting. A copy of any written answer provided by the Chair will be tabled at the start of the relevant section of the meeting. The Member who has put the question may, after the answer has been given, ask one supplementary question directly related to the subject matter, but no discussion will be allowed.

No supplementary question can be put or answered more than 10 minutes after the Council has started on the relevant item of business, except with the consent of the Chair. If a Member does not have the opportunity to put a supplementary question because no time remains, then he or she can submit it in writing to the Proper Officer who will arrange for a written answer to be provided within 7 working days.

\*\*\* **Question Time** - At each ordinary meeting of the Committee ten minutes will be allowed for Members questions when any Member of the Committee can put a question to the Chair on any business within the remit of that Section of the Committee. The Member who has put the question may, after the answer has been given, ask one supplementary question directly related to the subject matter, but no discussion will be allowed.

No supplementary question can be put or answered more than ten minutes after the Committee has started on the relevant item of business, except with the consent of the Chair. If a Member does not have the opportunity to put a supplementary question because no time remains, then he/she can submit it in writing to the proper officer who will arrange for a written answer to be provided within seven working days.

Clerk Name:Tracey SutherlandClerk Telephone:01343 563014Clerk Email:tracey.sutherland@moray.gov.uk

## THE MORAY COUNCIL

# **Children and Young People's Services Committee**

# **SEDERUNT**

Councillor Sonya Warren (Chair) Councillor Shona Morrison (Depute Chair) Ms Nicola Belcher (Member) Mrs Anne Currie (Member) Mr John Morrison (Member) Reverend Tembu Rongong (Member) Mrs Susan Slater (Member) Ms Angela Stuart (Member) Caitlin Thomson-Gardner (Member) Councillor George Alexander (Member) Councillor James Allan (Member) Councillor David Bremner (Member) Councillor Frank Brown (Member) Councillor Paula Coy (Member) Councillor Lorna Creswell (Member) Councillor Tim Eagle (Member) Councillor Ryan Edwards (Member) Councillor Claire Feaver (Member) Councillor Aaron McLean (Member) Councillor Derek Ross (Member)

Clerk Name: Tracey Sutherland Clerk Telephone: 01343 563014 Clerk Email: tracey.sutherland@moray.gov.uk