

# **Moray Council**

Monday, 13 December 2021

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a Special Meeting of the Moray Council is to be held at Remote Locations via Video Conference, on Monday, 13 December 2021 at 14:00.

# **BUSINESS**

- 1. Sederunt
- 2. Declaration of Group Decisions and Members Interests \*
- 3. Notice of Motion 5 6

Moray Council Committee meetings are currently being held virtually due to Covid-19. If you wish to watch the webcast of the meeting please go to:

<a href="http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray\_standard/page\_43661.html">http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray\_standard/page\_43661.html</a>

to watch the meeting live.

#### **GUIDANCE NOTES**

\* Declaration of Group Decisions and Members Interests - The Chair of the meeting shall seek declarations from any individual or political group at the beginning of a meeting whether any prior decision has been reached on how the individual or members of the group will vote on any item(s) of business on the Agenda, and if so on which item(s). A prior decision shall be one that the individual or the group deems to be mandatory on the individual or the group members such that the individual or the group members will be subject to sanctions should they not vote in accordance with the prior decision. Any such prior decisions will be recorded in the Minute of the meeting.

# THE MORAY COUNCIL

# **Moray Council**

# **SEDERUNT**

Councillor Shona Morrison (Chair)
Councillor Graham Leadbitter (Depute Chair)

Councillor George Alexander (Member)

Councillor James Allan (Member)

Councillor David Bremner (Member)

Councillor Frank Brown (Member)

Councillor Theresa Coull (Member)

Councillor John Cowe (Member)

Councillor Gordon Cowie (Member)

Councillor Lorna Creswell (Member)

Councillor John Divers (Member)

Councillor Tim Eagle (Member)

Councillor Ryan Edwards (Member)

Councillor Claire Feaver (Member)

Councillor Donald Gatt (Member)

Councillor Marc Macrae (Member)

Councillor Aaron McLean (Member)

Councillor Maria McLean (Member)

Councillor Ray McLean (Member)

Councillor Louise Nicol (Member)

Councillor Laura Powell (Member)

Councillor Derek Ross (Member)

Councillor Amy Taylor (Member)

Councillor Sonya Warren (Member)

Councillor Walter Wilson (Member)

Clerk Name:	Tracey Sutherland
Clerk Telephone:	07971 879268
Clerk Email:	committee.services@moray.gov.uk

# Special Meeting of Full Council Monday 13 December 2021

#### **Notice of Motion**

Following the resignation of former Cllr Paula Coy the Conservative Group and the MAG group were concerned that the current minority administration now represents less than a third of the overall council.

Despite the remaining time for this council before the 2022 council elections the combined groups are conscious that the annual budget is a very significant event with lasting implications for the council beyond the election timetable.

The combined group are willing to offer 11 councillors to take on the administration and in so doing will focus their efforts to build a truly strong recovery budget, giving strength to our communities and ensuring a commitment to high quality front line services.

The group give an absolute assurance that the work needed to change will be kept to an absolute minimum with a continued commitment to the Moray Growth Deal, the modernisation and improvement programme and the recovery and renewal programme.

If successful we will do everything we can to continue to foster positive relations with other groups in the council so together we can produce a strong recovery budget in 2022.

We recognise that the undersigned 11 councillors can, by coming together, bring enhanced certainty to the council over the remaining months, an area which is identified as high risk in the council's corporate risk assessment and we would reach out to all other councillors to continue working together for the communities of Moray.

The combined group therefore recommend that council note the potential benefit in 11 councillors being part of administration and agree to change the leader and convener of the council and by association the administration by agreeing the following appointments;

- **2.1** Appointment of Convener Cllr James Allan
- 2.2 Appointment of Council Leader Cllr Tim Eagle
- 2.3 Appointment of Chairs and Depute Chairs to each of the undernoted Committees to be confirmed during meeting;

Appeals Committee -

Audit and Scrutiny – To be decided by remaining members of council Corporate Committee –

Economic Development and Infrastructure Services -

Education, Children's and Leisure Services Committee – Housing and Community Safety Committee -Licensing Committee – Moray Local Review Body –

Planning and Regulatory Services –
Police and Fire and Rescue Services Committee –
Joint Consultative Committee School Placings and Exclusions Appeals Committee -

### 2.4 CoSLA Appointments – To be confirmed at council meeting

Leaders' Meeting – Council Leader

Convention - 3 Members (must reflect political balance)
Environment and Economy Board –
Community and Wellbeing Board –
Children and Young People Board –
Health and Social Care Board –

# 2.5 Community Planning and Other Partnership Bodies – To be confirmed at council meeting.

Community Planning Board – Grampian Valuation Joint Board – Moray Integration Joint Board –

#### 2.6 Outside bodies appointments -

NHS Grampian Board -

# Signed:

Cllr Timothy Eagle

Cllr Derek Ross

Cllr Claire Feaver

Cllr Frank Brown

Cllr Marc Macrae

Cllr Walter Wilson

Cllr Maria McLean

Cllr Ray McLean

**Cllr Donald Gatt** 

Cllr Laura Powell

Cllr James Allan