

Audit and Scrutiny Committee

Wednesday, 13 September 2023

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a Meeting of the Audit and Scrutiny Committee is to be held at Council Chambers, Council Office, High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BX on Wednesday, 13 September 2023 at 09:30.

BUSINESS

1.	Sederunt	
2.	Declaration of Group Decisions and Members Interests *	
3.	Minute of the meeting held 27 June 2023	5 - 8
4.	Written Questions **	
5.	Internal Audit Section Update Report	9 - 26
6.	Report by Audit and Risk Manager Internal Audit Section Completed Projects Report	27 - 56
7.	Report by Audit and Risk Manager Question Time ***	
	Consider any oral question on matters delegated to the Committee in	

terms of the Council's Scheme of Administration.

Summary of Audit and Scrutiny Committee functions:

Audit Functions - Consider reports from the Council's internal auditor & Audit Scotland concerning Council Functions.

Scrutiny Functions - Scrutinising the policies of the Council and their effectiveness in meeting the action plans of the Council as set out in the Corporate Development Plan and evaluating the actions of Committees in implementing the action plans set out in the Corporate Development Plan.

Performance Monitoring - To receive reports on the performance of and trends within all of the Council's services in terms of service standards and performance information.

Standards - To ensure that the highest standards of probity and public accountability are demonstrated.

GUIDANCE NOTES

- Declaration of Group Decisions and Members Interests The Chair of the meeting shall seek declarations from any individual or political group at the beginning of a meeting whether any prior decision has been reached on how the individual or members of the group will vote on any item(s) of business on the Agenda, and if so on which item(s). A prior decision shall be one that the individual or the group deems to be mandatory on the individual or the group members such that the individual or the group members will be subject to sanctions should they not vote in accordance with the prior decision. Any such prior decisions will be recorded in the Minute of the meeting.
- ** Written Questions Any Member can put one written question about any relevant and competent business within the specified remits not already on the agenda, to the Chair provided it is received by the Proper Officer or Committee Services by 12 noon two working days prior to the day of the meeting. A copy of any written answer provided by the Chair will be tabled at the start of the relevant section of the meeting. The Member who has put the question may, after the answer has been given, ask one supplementary question directly related to the subject matter, but no discussion will be allowed.

No supplementary question can be put or answered more than 10 minutes after the Council has started on the relevant item of business, except with the consent of the Chair. If a Member does not have the opportunity to put a supplementary question because no time remains, then he or she can submit it in writing to the Proper Officer who will arrange for a written answer to be provided within 7 working days.

*** Question Time - At each ordinary meeting of the Committee ten minutes will be allowed for Members questions when any Member of the Committee can put a question to the Chair on any business within the remit of that Section of the Committee. The Member who has put the question may, after the answer has been given, ask one supplementary question directly related to the subject matter, but no discussion will be allowed.

No supplementary question can be put or answered more than ten minutes after the Committee has started on the relevant item of business, except with the consent of the Chair. If a Member does not have the opportunity to put a supplementary question because no time remains, then he/she can submit it in writing to the proper officer who will arrange for a written answer to be provided within seven working days.

MORAY COUNCIL

Audit and Scrutiny Committee

SEDERUNT

Councillor Graham Leadbitter (Chair)
Councillor Shona Morrison (Depute Chair)

Councillor Peter Bloomfield (Member)

Councillor Theresa Coull (Member)

Councillor John Cowe (Member)

Councillor John Divers (Member)

Councillor Amber Dunbar (Member)

Councillor Jérémie Fernandes (Member)

Councillor Donald Gatt (Member)

Councillor David Gordon (Member)

Councillor Sandy Keith (Member)

Councillor Marc Macrae (Member)

Councillor Neil McLennan (Member)

Councillor John Stuart (Member)

Mr Ivan Augustus (Non-Voting Member)
Ms Margaret Wilson (Non-Voting Member)

		1 7
ŀ	Clerk Name:	Lindsey Robinson
	Clerk Telephone:	07966 120593
	Clerk Email:	committee services@moray gov uk